Are Your Email Unsubscribers Rising? Then Read This

Pooja Agnihotri
3 min readJul 15, 2021

--

One of my email subscribers unsubscribed today, just after a day of signing up to receive my newsletters. To be honest, it was not an extraordinary event to get much of my attention and distract me from other pending work. Such things happen all the time. Anyone who is running a blog or is sending a newsletter knows how unalarming these events are.

Yes, I know it is a common occurrence and can’t be avoided. Even then, it should still make you examine if you are doing everything right from your side.

You’re running a business because of your audience. They are your equity. If you keep them unhappy, you are going to decrease your equity by a considerable amount which doesn’t seem like a smart business decision.

To practice what I preach, yesterday, I spent a lot of my work time thinking about various ways to keep my audience happy. I contemplated a lot about what led to this. let’s see what I found.

What were the Reasons for this Unsubscribing?

I realized that there can be three reasons why they were not satisfied with their email experience:

As my email subscriber unsubscribed just after a day, I knew it was not because we provided a better experience earlier which went down with time. It was also not the third option because creativity and knowledge are Bizadmark’s strengths. All our surveys have revealed that people find our newsletter very informative.

Now, only one option was left. They didn’t like the experience they got.

Maybe we did something wrong or maybe we didn’t do something we should have done.

I spent many hours mulling over this issue. What was that something I was doing wrong?

What Did I Takeaway From This Unsubscribing?

After a lot of analysis, brainstorming with my team, I came to the conclusion that my newsletter didn’t have the option of choosing how often people wanted to receive it.

As not just we write daily blogs, we also share the latest stories from the business world about how other brands use marketing and advertising strategies to gain a competitive edge.

One set of our audience likes to receive daily notifications as they don’t want to be left behind and want to keep up with the trends while the other set wants to receive only weekly. The latter set is comparatively small to the ones who want to receive emails every day.

I will emphasize almost negligible. But they still remain an important part of my audience and providing them what they want is my job.

Even if any set of your audience is very small, their needs should never be ignored. And that’s why even if I had to spend my entire day perfecting the customer experience of this comparatively negligible subset of my audience but it was completely worth it.

Key Takeaway

“When people talk, listen completely. Most people never listen.” -Ernest Hemingway

The success of your business depends on your ability to listen to your email subscribers. Also, figuring out how you can make their experience better. It can be just one email subscriber or it can be millions of email subscribers. But the size of an audience shouldn’t affect your desire to serve them.

--

--

Pooja Agnihotri

Experienced marketer and a published book author, Pooja Agnihotri, is on a mission to save businesses from themselves.